Holland Wins Eighth National Aerobatic Championship, Sets New Record


On September 28, aerobatic pilot and ICAS member Rob Holland won his eighth consecutive U.S. National Aerobatic Championship, exceeding Leo Loudenslager’s previous record of seven National Aerobatic Championship victories. The 2018 competition was held at the Wittman Regional Airport in Oshkosh, Wisconsin.

The National Aerobatic Champion is determined by a pilot’s cumulative score from three different rounds of flying: Known, Free and Unlimited. Holland achieved the highest score in the Unlimited round.

ICAS members Jim Bourke, Robbie Gibbs, Melissa Burns, Mark Nowosielski, Craig Gifford, and AJ Wilder also competed in this year’s National Aerobatic Championship.

Previous articleFly Ottumwa Air Show Hosts Inaugural Legacy Education Day
Next articleAirshow London’s Flying ‘Katie’s Bears’ Show that Anything is Possible
The International Council of Air Shows (ICAS) is a trade association dedicated to building and sustaining a vibrant air show industry to support its membership. To achieve this goal, ICAS demands its members operate their air show business at only the highest levels of safety, professionalism, and integrity.